Hi! Welcome to the Smallpdf helpdesk!

Here you find all solutions to the most common issues. And of course, you can also submit a support request or ask for a new feature!

Common Problems

  • Process can’t complete / It takes too long!

    When the program can’t complete the process, usually browser extensions are the problem.
    Please try the following:
    1. Make sure you have all browser extensions disabled when using our service or use private/incognito mode to use our site.
    2. If that doesn’t work try to use a different browser.
    In 99% of cases this will solve the problem. If you still have issues please send us an email.

    This didn’t solve your problem?
    Then get in touch with us and we’ll do our best to help you.
    Write a Report
  • I can’t find my file / Where does my file go?

    When you can’t find your file, it is usually one of the two problems.
    Either you have completed the processing of the file and have pressed the download button. Then your file will probably be in the standard download folder of your browser.
    Find out here how to find it or change it.
    The other more common thing is that your file uploaded but never finished processing (the icon never stopped moving) and you didn’t download the file.
    When the program can’t complete the process, usually browser extensions are the problem.
    Please try the following:
    1. Make sure you have all browser extensions disabled when using our service or use private/incognito mode to use our site.
    2. If that doesn’t work try to use a different browser.
    In almost all cases this will solve the problem.

    This didn’t solve your problem?
    Then get in touch with us and we’ll do our best to help you.
    Write a Report
  • Is Smallpdf safe to use? Will my file be deleted?

    We are working hard to make our services as secure as possible. While our site is not fully encrypted, file uploads are always going through a secure connection.
    Also, all files on our servers are deleted within one hour after processing.
    We only keep it for one hour to give the users enough time to download the files and Pro users can access the files they've been using in the past hour.
    Your files will always be deleted and they will never be viewed, copied, shared or analyzed in any way.
    Please do not send us inquiries about specific files to be deleted. We cannot check on this for you because the files and all logs are usually already deleted at this point.
    For more information, please read our privacy policy.

    This didn’t solve your problem?
    Then get in touch with us and we’ll do our best to help you.
    Write a Report
  • After using Smallpdf my document looks different. What can I do?

    Does your document have any changes? Does it look different from the original?
    Especially with compression or conversion from PDF to Office documents, this can happen. It is very rare but it does. It is very important for us to fix such issues.
    Please send us a report here. We appreciate it very much!
    If you have problems with fonts from Office to PDF conversion, please find a solution here.

    This didn’t solve your problem?
    Then get in touch with us and we’ll do our best to help you.
    Write a Report
  • [Compress PDF] Further compression required?

    We have intentionally not built any options into our PDF compressor to keep it simple. Our compression formula is designed to give the most compression while keeping the highest quality. We’ve optimised our compression tool to give the best results possible whilst maintaining quality and unfortunately we can’t offer any further compression.

    This didn’t solve your problem?
    Then get in touch with us and we’ll do our best to help you.
    Write a Report
  • [Office to PDF] Font problems.

    If your file looks different after an Office to PDF conversion, then it is usually a problem with the font. Usually the problem is that we don’t have that font. This means a font that you have on Word on your computer but we do not have it. So, a font you had on Word on your computer but we don’t have on our server, will create bad results.
    Please embed all font when you save your document in Microsoft Word and upload it again.
    Here you find instructions how to do that.
    If you still have issues, please send us a report with the file.

    This didn’t solve your problem?
    Then get in touch with us and we’ll do our best to help you.
    Write a Report
  • How can I rearrange the pages in a PDF?

    Using the Merge PDF function you can easily rearrange pages here by dragging them to a different position. Simply upload your document in the Merge PDF app, select the “page mode” option in the top right of the box and then drag the pages into a different position. Then click merge and download your file with pages in a new order. Voila, your pages are rearranged.

    This didn’t solve your problem?
    Then get in touch with us and we’ll do our best to help you.
    Write a Report
  • Why do I have to pay for Smallpdf now?

    As we developed into a more professional and stable service we made the decision to charge our high frequency users a reasonable amount for Smallpdf Pro so that we could continue to grow and offer the best possible online solution for PDF problems. For everyone else it still remains free to use twice per hour.
    You can find out more about why we made these changes in our blog post .

    This didn’t solve your problem?
    Then get in touch with us and we’ll do our best to help you.
    Write a Report
  • I got a message saying i’d reached the limit, what are the limitations?

    You can process up to two documents per hour, if you need to process more than two per hour you can sign up for Smallpdf Pro which allows you to batch process files and to use more than one function in a simple easy workflow. If you want to know more why we introduced these limitations you can read our Medium blog post about it.

    This didn’t solve your problem?
    Then get in touch with us and we’ll do our best to help you.
    Write a Report
  • How can I use several apps without reuploading?

    You can use several tools in a workflow without re-uploading the file. For example, you might want to merge several documents into one and then sign it. You will find the available options in the result of each step. Read more about it on our blog

    This didn’t solve your problem?
    Then get in touch with us and we’ll do our best to help you.
    Write a Report

Pro

  • What are the benefits of Pro?

    Pro has a range of great new functions and benefits listed below.

    • Unlimited access - process as many files as you want
    • SSL Encryption - Fully encrypted file transfer to keep your files safe
    • Multiple File Processing - upload, convert and compress multiple files.
    • Connected Functions - Use multiple features in a row without reuploading
    • Zero Ads - Enjoy the full beauty of Smallpdf design without annoying ads.
    • Priority Support - We will always be there for you if something doesn’t work as expected.

    This didn’t solve your problem?
    Then get in touch with us and we’ll do our best to help you.
    Write a Report
  • What kind of payment methods do you support?

    The following major credit cards are accepted.

    • Visa
    • Mastercard
    • Discover
    • JCB
    • American Express
    • Diners Club
    Don’t worry if your credit card is not listed, you can also use Paypal which supports most local credit cards or other methods of payment like bank transfers. Please note that we are currently unable to accept other forms of payment not listed above. We are working on integrating new payment methods but for now it is only the Credit Cards above and Paypal that we can accept. We apologise for any inconvenience.

    This didn’t solve your problem?
    Then get in touch with us and we’ll do our best to help you.
    Write a Report
  • Why was my Credit Card declined?

    Ooops, sorry you’re having problems. We don’t support all credit cards, you can check the payment methods we accept in this help section.
    Some reasons that can cause your card to be declined are listed below:

    • International purchase - some credit card companies will block international purchases if you haven’t told them about your plan to use your card for this reason.
    • You’ve reached your credit limit. Check with your credit card provider about the best way to avoid this.
    • Information you entered doesn’t match your credit card records, maybe you’ve moved house or changed your name recently.
    • Your card has expired...check that your credit card is currently in date.
    • There’s a hold on your card - when you use your card for large transactions, such as hiring a rental car or checking into a hotel, a hold for the full amount is put on your card. If a hold exceeds the limit of your card it could get declined for further use until the hold is released.

    This didn’t solve your problem?
    Then get in touch with us and we’ll do our best to help you.
    Write a Report
  • How does the auto-renewal subscription work?

    You never need to worry that your subscription will expire, subscriptions auto-renew until you cancel them. When you have an annual subscription we’ll email you before we charge your card again, in case you’ve forgotten you have this subscription or want to cancel. If you want to stop payments just cancel your subscription, you can still use Smallpdf Pro for the time you have paid for already and your card won’t be charged again. You can cancel your subscription by logging in, visiting your account page and clicking on "Cancel Subscription". To get access at a later date, just visit your account page again and click on "Renew Subscription".

    This didn’t solve your problem?
    Then get in touch with us and we’ll do our best to help you.
    Write a Report
  • Can I use Smallpdf Pro for my business?

    Absolutely! We are very happy to welcome business users to Smallpdf Pro. One account is required per employee but if you need to cater for more than 500 users, please send an email to sales@smallpdf.com, we’ll be happy to create a custom solution that meets your needs.

    This didn’t solve your problem?
    Then get in touch with us and we’ll do our best to help you.
    Write a Report
  • My VAT number is not accepted. What’s the problem?

    Your VAT number should be filled in without any periods, spaces, dashes or other special characters and with a country code, two letters, inserted in front of the VAT number.
    We check all VAT numbers with the EU database and you can only fill in VAT number if your business is located inside the EU. Here’s a useful link to EU VAT identification numbers.
    We can only validate EU VAT numbers

    This didn’t solve your problem?
    Then get in touch with us and we’ll do our best to help you.
    Write a Report
  • How do I cancel my subscription to Smallpdf Pro?

    Login to Smallpdf Pro and go to your Account. Scroll down to “subscription” and click on the “cancel subscription” button. Please note that you will still be able to access Smallpdf Pro for the time you’ve already paid for.

    This didn’t solve your problem?
    Then get in touch with us and we’ll do our best to help you.
    Write a Report
  • How do I change my payment method?

    Login to Smallpdf Pro and go to your Account information. Scroll down to “payment method” and click “change”.

    This didn’t solve your problem?
    Then get in touch with us and we’ll do our best to help you.
    Write a Report
  • Where can i get an invoice for my subscription?

    Login to Smallpdf Pro and go to your Account information. Scroll down to the bottom of your account information for the “invoices” section and click “ Download as PDF”

    This didn’t solve your problem?
    Then get in touch with us and we’ll do our best to help you.
    Write a Report
  • How do I change my email address or password?

    You can change your personal details in your profile settings. This can be found by logging in to Smallpdf Pro and going to Account. Please note that you cannot change the email address or password for your account through Smallpdf Pro if you've used a Google or Facebook social login to set up your account. We don't have access to your personal social channels. To change the email or password in this case, please do it directly through the social platform.

    This didn’t solve your problem?
    Then get in touch with us and we’ll do our best to help you.
    Write a Report
  • I paid for Smallpdf Pro, why do i still receive a limitation message?

    This happens when a user has created more than one account on Smallpdf by accident and the account they are logged into is not being paid for.
    To check if you’re logged into an account that’s being paid hover over your username in the top right corner and check if you can access your account page. If it says “Account” and you can click on it and see your payment details, the issue you're having is different, please contact us to resolve the issue.
    If you see “Complete Sign-up” when you hover over your username, this means the account you’re logged into has not completed payment. Please logout and login to the correct account.
    Please note: Often people create an account using their google email address and a password. Then later login by clicking on the google social login button. But this creates a new account.
    If you think you have duplicate accounts and are having trouble logging into your paid account, please contact us.

    This didn’t solve your problem?
    Then get in touch with us and we’ll do our best to help you.
    Write a Report
  • Can I add multiple users into my Smallpdf Pro account?

    Yes, you can. After creating your personal Smallpdf Pro account, you need go into your account settings page and click “upgrade” under the “Team” section.
    This transforms your Smallpdf Pro subscription into an admin account, and you are able to add more users into your subscription with a simple click of a button.

    This didn’t solve your problem?
    Then get in touch with us and we’ll do our best to help you.
    Write a Report
Couldn’t find a solution to your problem or just want to suggest a new feature?
Write a Report Suggest a Feature